Largy Townland, Killead

Ploughing Society Awards

The following is from the Supplement to the Lisburn Herald dated Saturday February 16th 1929.

Killead Ploughing Society

The annual competitions were held on Saturday last on the farm of Mr. R. Miller, Largy, Crumlin. While the entries were smaller than usual, the quality of the work was regarded as the highest in the 13 years’ history of the Society.
In the style and appearance section D McPherson, Muckamore, was successful in winning the Kirk Cup for the third year in succession, thus becoming possessor of the trophy. R.J. Andrews, Toome, who gained second prize in this section, although having only the power of one hand, proved himself a steady ploughed, being second in the open ploughing class. The Killultagh Challenge Cup was annexed by L. McFarlane, Killead.

The following were the officials in charge of the arrangements – Lieut Colonel Pakenham, Crumlin (Patron); Messrs R J Kirk, J.P. Antrim (president); W.J. Mayrs, Crumlin (Chariman); T. McFarlane, Ardmore, Crumlin (secretary); and J. Moody Muck more (treasurer). The judges were – Messrs F Burnett, Coagh; J. Lindsay, Dunleady; and R McFarlane, Ballymagarrick, Lisburn.


Turnouts – 1 (and Kirk Cup), D. McPherson, Muckamore; 2 R J Andrews, Toome; 3. S White, Muckamore; 4, L. McFarlane, Crumlin

Ploughing (open) – 1 (Killultagh Cup, for best ploughed plot in the field), L. McFarlane, Crumlin; 2. R J Andrews, Toome; 3. W.J. Mayrs, Crumlin (plough held by S Boyd); 4. W. Harkness, Crumlin; 5, T. Millar, Crumlin.

Ploughing (confined) 1. S White, Muckamore; 2. H Campbell, British.

Mrs Miller handed over the prizes, and on the motion of Mr Kirk, seconded by Mr. Thompson, a vote of thanks was accorded to Mr. And Mrs Miller for their hospitality.

Comments are closed.